The Colonial Forge High School site has its own rich history. In 1724, John England, the manager of the Principio Furnace located in Cecil County Maryland, learned that there were rich iron deposits in Stafford, Virginia. These rich deposits were located on a tract of land located near the Accokeek Creek. John England then conferred with Augustine Washington (father of George Washington) who owned this tract of land concerning the supervision and mining of the ore. Washington oversaw the Accokeek Ironworks and bequeathed his interest to his son, Lawrence. For a time, these ironworks and the forge itself proved to be profitable and even exported
one-fifth of the entire tonnage exported from Maryland and Virginia.
Hence the name of our school Colonial Forge was derived from these two important factors: the time period, pre-revolutionary or the Colonial period and the location of the existence of the actual ironworks forge. Because we were able to actually verify and locate the cornerstones of the “Old Forge”, Colonial Forge bears the honor and privilege of being noted as a historical site through the Virginia Historical Society. We received our historical marker at our May 2000 dedication of our school. It is located at the front of the school, near the front parking loop.